8/5/2015 Beer Fridge Contents.

Beer Fridge

The old beer storage fridge. I use a small wine “chiller” fridge like the one posted above to both store my harder-to-obtain beer and to control the fermentation temperature in my carboy. The one above is a pretty standard wine fridge and I must admit I forked out the extra $25 to go a little more legit, with a slightly bigger interior(those 6-gallon carboys are big), and an all digital temperature controller that seems to do its job to within a 1/2 degree of the setting. Being that the fridge is indeed bigger I am able to store beer bottles while fermenting, and since I don’t ever do Lagers, just ales, my temperature of the fridge stays between a healthy 50 to 65 degrees Fahrenheit.

Anyway, I was trading some bottles of beer with a good friend of mine who owns an all beer bar not far from here. I’d say about every 6 months we make a trade, usually based on our recent travels and things we have picked up along the way. I was recently in Brussels and I happened to pick him up a few Cantillon bottles because I know he loves both the kreuk and gueuze lambic styles, and they pretty much own the methodology for making those. In turn, he gave me a few beers, a New Glarus Raspberry Tart from Wiscosin and a RecoltSherryCask_largee Du Bois aged in Sherry Barrels from Tahoe Mountain Brewing Company.

Well, I drank the Sherry Aged beer at the bar so all I have is this picture on the left of the label that I swiped off the great googlesphere. It was damn fine too, even though saisons and sours are admittedly the weakest part of my palate and what I have the least experience trying.

I got home and put the other beer in my fridge and it waUnknowns getting to know the other beers in there for a couple days. Which, leads to this blog post. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE bare with me through the next techy paragraph until you get to the end. Its really cool. I promise.

Start Techie talk:

Then I acquired this new camera. The Lytro Illum. Yeah, I know. It looks weird and strange and kinda cool and kinda gimmicky. But, what is it? Well… I’m going to try to explain what it does and I am sure I will not be able to do it justice. Most camera have a fixed or removable lens that either is a Prime or Zoom lens. A Prime lens is one fixed focal length, expressed as millimeters(mm), as in the ever famous 35mm lens. A Zoom lens is different in that through a series of different glass and mechanical positioning, once can change the lens among a different set of focal lengths, say 18mm-90mm or 25mm-250mm, thus being able to focus on something up close or taking  picture of a billboard 400 feet away and zooming in. I’m straying off topic, ahem… The Lytro is a whole different animal. It takes photos using a light field sensor. This sensor process millions of differing rays of light and calculates the direction, intensity, speed, etc and formulates a 3d photo that can even change perspective, zoom, focus, etc, AFTER the photo is snapped.

End Techie talk.

To give you a good idea, I took this photo of the contents of my beer fridge, all layed out and embedded the photo here for your (and my) pleasure.  So, please, let the embedded data load and click around on the photo. Click the beer in the back, the front. I believe if you click, hold, and drag you can somewhat change the perspective up to a couple degrees(this feature works better when your foreground object is 10-100 feet in front of your background object – something I don’t have here).

I want you to do 3 things to demonstrate why I am obsessed with this thing. Click on the bottle cap nearest to you(one of the Westys), then click the white Cantillon label to the left of it, and finally, after that loads, click the Firestone box in the mid-rear range. Pretty neato, huh?!

So, what do I have shown in this photo, which is about 80 percent of my fridge…

From Belgium:
Westvleteren 12
Westvleteren 8
Westvleteren Blonde
Cantillon Kreuk Lambic
Cantillon Gueuze Lambic
Peche Mel Bush
La Chouffe Soleil
Not Picture From Belgium:
Leffe Nectar
Leffe Whitbread Golding
Duchess De Bourgogne
Floris Chocolat
Kasteel Tripel

From USA
The Bruery White Chocolate
The Bruery Chocolate Rain
The Bruery Ignus Fatuus
The Bruery Tart Of Darkness
The Bruery Sucre
The Bruery Tumescence
Firestone Velvet Merkin Oatmeal Stout
New Glarus Raspberry Tart
Not Picture From USA:
The Bruery Sans Pagaie
Almanac Dark Pumpkin Sour
The Lost Abbey Carnival
Rogue Pumpkin Patch (2014)
Rogue Pumpkin Patch (2013)
Rogue Pumpkin Patch (2012)
Rogue Pumpkin Patch (2011)
Sierra Nevada Ovila Abbey Quad

From Austria:
Gregorius Trappestenbier

From Denmark
Mikkeller Vanilla Shake

Not Pictured From Germany
Augustiner Munchen Edelstoff
Augustiner Munchen Maximator

——

The toughest part about these beers is that a lot of them I won’t be able to find without some serious time and perhaps even money for travel. That is what makes it so hard to drink them. We’ve made efforts and I would say we drink about 1 for every 3 that we buy but even at that rate the fridge is damn near filled. My wife and I have already promised to go through the pumpkin patch beers this year after we pick up the 5th year. Then we can have a vertical properly – 5 years. Honestly, it wasn’t until year 3 that we considered that maybe these aren’t even live pumpkin beers and they could all taste relatively the same minus recipe tweaks. That is also I think what led us to decide those must go.  We’ve cut through some of the Bruery beers, those are hit and miss for me. I’ve cut down on the Westvleteren 12s. I had 12 of them. I drank 7, gave away 4 and now I have 1 left.

The not picture German beers will probably be gone by this time next week. Those were a last minute pickup and while they aren’t particularly that hard to find, I have a difficult time in this immediate area finding them. Same with the Kasteel Tripel.

As soon as I have the beers I haven’t before tried, I’ll report back accordingly.

Now, onto the next question: What do YOU have in your fridge and what are you looking forward to drinking and why haven’t you drank it yet? Why are/were you saving it?

Leave a Reply

